2012 Summary

2012 was a stellar year for Queensland Superkart racing particularly for Jason Smith, Dan Lewis and Bernie Walsh. Smith became the first Queenslander to win an Australian title since Russell Jamieson won the 125 cc title in 2006, and the first Queenslander to win the premiere 250 International class Australian championship in 20 years. The TJP Motorsport Anderson-DEA had the speed, the consistency and the nerve to claim the championship at the Queensland Raceway series finale beating two-time champion Darren Hossack and long-time championship front runner Gary Pegoraro.

Smith also used the team's FPE engined Anderson to claim the Queensland Championship at Morgan Park Raceway, taking the points lead from Joshua Barnett at the final meeting of the year. The team also took class wins in the superkartaus.com Superkart Cup racing at Morgan Park and the RaceTech Motorsport Superkart Challenge Series Lakeside Park and Queensland Raceway as well as claiming the inaugural AASA Australian nationals at Queensland Raceway over Ant Basile's Racetech Motorsport Anderson-BRC.

Dan Lewis had a season to remember in the fiercely contested Sugarless Confectionery Co. Rotax Max Superkart Cup in the Lewis Plumbing Arrow X1 taking 13 wins from 20 starts in the Rotax Light class. A season of hard racing with John Hay's Sodi Maxjet Racing Sodi SR4 and with Rotax Heavy class rivals Sean Maberly in his Intrepid Explorer and the AJS Electrical Services CRG Maximo of Jason Shaw saw Lewis take the Rotax Light title by 323 points over Hay. Like Smith, Lewis also won his class at the AASA Australian nationals at Queensland Raceway near the end of the season.

Bernie Walsh was the highest point scorer over the course of the superkartaus.com Superkart Cup at Morgan Park Raceway over the course of the CAMS Queensland Motor Racing Championship meetings. Returning to Superkart racing after a decade away from the sport, Walsh took his 250 National class Anderson-Honda to victory in the largest grid of single cylinder 250 cc karts seen in Queensland in over a decade. Walsh led home Spider Racing team mates Phil Webb and Paul Gregory. Walsh also won the 250 National class of the AASA Australian nationals as well as finish third in Australian title after a season long battle with young Victorian Brendan Luneman and fellow Queenslander Joe Tyrrell in the Racetech Motorsport Anderson-Honda.

At the Australian championships saw the best Queensland performance in many years. In additional to Smith's championship and Tyrrell and Walsh finishing second and third in 250 National there were two fourth places. Russell Jamieson exhibited race winning pace several times throughout the season in the Coach Design Anderson-DEA in 250 International and young Doug Amiss was a model of consistency in the Bluff Racing Stockman-Yamaha to claim fourth place in the 125 cc division. Amiss position was a pleasant surprise for the Bluff Racing team, with Doug jumping two places in the final race of the championship. Tim Philp was a championship front runner early in the series in the 125 cc class in the Floth Sustainable Building Consultancy Avoig-Honda until striking problems at the final round fading to fifth place. Michael Ward and Barry Kunowski finished fifth and sixth in the 250 National class with Phil Silcock, Lindsay Jamieson and Brian Wild finishing seventh, ninth and tenth respectively in the 125 cc class.

Young Quintin Slabbert took his Arrow X1 to win the Rotax Junior class in the AASA Superkart nationals. Stewart Bell took the Linra Properties Gladiator to second place in the 125 cc class, despite running an obsolescent 80 cc class engine. In 250 International behind Smith, Ant Basile finished second in his Racetech Motorsport Anderson-BRC and Jason Laker was third in the radical locally developed Superkart Evolutions SKE Evo II-FPE. Queenslanders swept the 250 National division with Paul Gregory and Joe Tyrrell claiming the minor places behind champion Walsh. John Hay was third in the Rotax Light division behind champion Lewis and Jason Shaw claimed third place in Rotax Heavy against stiff competition from New South Wales.

The Queensland State Championship was won by Smith with Joshua Barnett claiming second in the Angel Blue Marketing Anderson-Honda with Bernie Walsh third. Scott Barnsley and Michael Nicholas were fourth and fifth the championship, career best results for both.

Of the Queensland Superkart Club point score the superkartaus.com Superkart Cup was run over the four Morgan Park race meetings. Smith won 250 International ahead of Joshua Barnett and Scott Barnsley. Bernie Walsh won 250 National ahead of Phil Webb and Paul Gregory. 125 cc was won by Phil Silcock in the immaculately presented Rockpress Stockman-Honda ahead of Doug Amiss and Lindsay Jamieson. Scott Goody (Arrow AX6) won Rotax Max over Cameron Hoswell (Hypermax Phoenix) with Quintin Slabbert winning Rotax Junior.

The Lakeside Park and Queensland Raceway circuits played host to the Sugarless Confectionary Co. Rotax Max Superkart Cup and the RaceTech Motorsport Superkart Challenge Series for gearbox equipped classes. In the Sugarless Confectionery Series Lewis won Rotax Light from John Hay and the Arrow AX8 of Joe Sciacca. Sean Maberly won Rotax Heavy ahead of Stephen Scott (Azzurro R6B) and Daniel Callingham in his Wildkart.

The RaceTech Motorsport Superkart Challenge Series saw Jason Smith win 250 International ahead of the Buildersmile Construction SKE Evo II-DEA of Carlo Chermaz and the Stockman MR2 of Steve Cloake. 250 National was won by Paul Gregory in the Spider Racing PFP-Honda ahead of his team boss Phil Webb with Bernie Walsh third. Tim Philp won the 125 cc class ahead of Stewart Bell in his 80 cc Gladiator with Grant Yarrow third in the motorsportzone.com.au Cougar-Honda. Todd Gardner claimed the Rotax Nosecone class ahead of New Soth Wales-based racer Wayne Horswell, both racing Hypermaxes with Quintin Slabbert winning Rotax Junior.

The club awards at the end of year trophy presentation saw 125 cc race Brian Wild claim the Hard Luck Award. There were two encouragement awards for the first time. They were awarded to class winning rookie 250 National competitor Paul Gregory and Rotax Max racer Warwick Donsky. Best Presented Superkarts were awarded to Nick Contarino in Rotax Max and Australian championship winning TJP Motorsport. TJP Motorsport were also awarded the Best Presented Team award along with the Intrepid equipped Rotax Max team of Sean Maberly and Grant McKay.

Most Improved awards were won by Rotax Heavy racer Jason Shaw and 250 International PVP racer Lee Swindell. Outstanding Achievement was presented to Jason Smith for his Australian Championship victory. The Rookies of the Year were awarded to Paul Gregory of 250 International and Stephen Scott of Rotax Heavy.

Oustanding Club Person was awarded to Club Treasurer and Bluff Racing Team Principal, Roger Amiss. Sugarless Confectionery Co. Rotax Max Superkart Cup series organiser Don Munro was given the President's Award. Series commentator Mark Jones received the QSC media award. Retiring 250 National competitor Phil Webb received a special appreciation award in recognition of his racing career which dates back to the early 1960s.