R3 2016 Motorsport Zone Superkart Series photos from Ross Johnson Photography

Photos from Ross Johnson Photography for Round 3 of the 2016 Motorsport Zone Superkart Series at Lakeside Park last weekend can be seen at this link.

Video footage from Race 4 onboard Gareth Crisps 250 National ADE / Gas Gas can also be seen at this link.

2016 National Festival of Superkarts Phillip Island 20-21/08/16 Entry Form and Supp Regs

Don’t miss this one!
After lengthy discussions with competitors in every state it became abundantly clear that the drivers wanted a National Title for all classes at the one event, at an affordable price. The Superkart Clubs held discussions last year and decided to expand on the already successful “NGB Nationals” that they had run for many years and that in 2016 it would include all classes.
The 2016 National Festival of Superkarts will be held in August at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit which is arguably Australia’s best Motorsport facility over a single weekend, which will be the first time in 10 years that the 250s will race by themselves without other classes on track. The same goes for the 125 and Non Gearbox classes.
“The sport via communication with their clubs wanted to go back to an event that showcases all the classes we offer and has them all racing together at the same event,” said one of the event organisers. “This way we get to watch the other class’s race, something that couldn’t be done in the past with the split series and combined races.”
The sport could see that with the increasing costs and dwindling numbers at other premium events it was time to take a step back and regroup so as to bring the sport back as one.
The Nationals will be run over the weekend of August 20 & 21. The entry fee will be kept under $450.00 and includes a pit lane garage space plus entry to the now famous “Drivers Lounge” for catering all weekend for the drivers. All classes will be racing for the coveted number one and this will be the biggest single gathering of Superkarts in years. The event will be run under a Cams permit.
This National event should not be confused with the 3 round series being run by SKA, a private company running its own events. This single weekend Nationals is put together by the Superkart Clubs for their members.


motorsportzone 2016 series
250 International
Small field of 250 twins with Jason Smith showing the others how it's done before breaking a wheel stud in the last final but 3 wins early on proved too much too overcome for the other competitors.
1st: Jason Smith (ANDERSON / DEA)
2nd: Michael Nicholas (STOCKMAN / YAMAHA)
3rd: Taylor Bertram (F1 / HONDA)

250 National
Still hot of his win at Eastern Creek, Tim Weier showed the way for most of the weekend, Gareth pushed him hard in the last heat even trading paint on the last lap before a drag race to the line.
1st: TIm Weier (ANDERSON / GAS GAS)
2nd: Gareth Crisp (ADE / GAS GAS)
3rd: Lachaln Crisp (STOCKMAN / GAS GAS)

125cc Gearbox
Phil Silcock showed how it's done again this weekend, mixing speed and reliability to take 3 out of 4 wins with Lindsay Jamieson managing to snag race 3 off him after a race long duel. Grant Yarrow, John Bothamley and Sam McFerran showed flashes of brillance before succumbing to mechanical issues over the weekend leaving Doug Amiss and Darryl Bertram to round out the podium.
1st: Phil Silcock (AVOIG /HONDA)
2nd: Doug Amiss (STOCKMAN/ YAMAHA)
3rd: Darryl Bertram (GILLARD / SGM)

85cc Gearbox
All 3 podium positions had a chance at leading during the weekend but it was Scott who managed to come out on top in the end.
1st: Scott Jameison (Gladiator / HONDA)
2nd: Cameron Moxley (GLADIATOR / YAMAHA)
3rd: Stewart Bell (Gladiator / YAMAHA)

2016 Round 3 Motorsport Zone Superkart Series entries open. Close Friday July 1st

Entries for Round 3 of the 2016 Motorsport Zone Superkart Series are open and will close Friday July 1st at the latest. Feel free to enter for the rest of the year while you are there. Practice available all day on the Friday 08/07/16 for $80.00 for a half day and $120.00 for a full day. Entry Fee $295.00 for each event. Interstate entries most welcome. Further info can be seen at this link

Jordie Ford Wins British Superkart GP

Australian Superkart racer Jordan Ford has won the 2016 British Superkart Grand Prix for 250 Nationals! Jordie and his Melbourne-based team headed to the UK last week and got their hands on a new Anderson/DEA Superkart.

After setting fastest time for the single-cylinder machines in practice, Jordie then planted himself on pole for his class (1:31.617s), and an amazing 11th outright in a field largely made up of twins. Ford's closest challengers were the experienced Brits, Paul Platt (MS Kart/GasGas - 1:32.200s) and Gavin Bennett (Anderson/DEA - 1:32.276s).

If that effort wasn't enough, Ford then went out and won Race 1 (a race-within-a-race for the Singles amongst the 'open' class twins), over Bennett and Platt, taking 10th outright.

Race 2 (round 4 of the European Championship) didn't go to plan, Jordie DNFing after a carburettor clamp failed. Bennett took the win, though Jordie did get back out on track for some quick laps at the end.

Having qualified pole, Ford lead the field to the start of the 10-lap British GP, dicing with Bennett for the win and setting a new lap record for the category on the way. He won by 1.6s over Bennett with Jack Layton in third making a 1-2-3 for Anderson/DEA karts.

"I had amazing races with Gavin Bennett today, so clean and respectful yet hard fought. Some of the best racing I will ever remember" Jordie wrote on Facebook.

"As a team, we learnt so much this weekend, working on the kart with minuscule changes with huge impact, and I was able to adjust my driving and gain more and more confidence all weekend. Driving with downforce properly is hectic!


The second Competition of the 2016 CIK-FIA European Superkart Championship took place under very mild conditions in an atmosphere dedicated to Karting. The British single-cylinder and KZ long-circuit categories shared the programme and pits with the Superkarts, with several Drivers jointly participating in two events. Lédenon was dominated by a trio while at Donington Park the circle of contenders for the podium widened to five.